Minutes President's Committee on Corporate Social Responsibility Wednesday, April 24, 2013, Gentry Building Room 144 3:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.

<u>**Present</u></u>: Gina DeVivo Brassaw, Celia Guillard, Shareen Hertel, Nina Hunter, Michael Kirk, Waldo Klein, Leslie Langworthy, Rich Miller, Kyle Muncy, Dennis Pierce, Susan Randolph, John Sears, Bill Simpson, and Tim Tolokan</u>**

<u>Absent</u>: Kelsey Barringham, Robert Bird, Ann Crawford, Phil Dwire, and Kimberly Fearney

Meeting called to order at 3:06 p.m.

Chairwoman Hertel informed the committee that she had responded to members of Idealists, UConn Free Press, and USAS regarding their letter and visit to President Herbst on Friday, April 19, 2013.

Chair thanked Gina DeVivo Brassaw, Nina Hunter, Waldo Klein, and Kyle Muncy for the great job in helping out with students who were concerned with the PT Kizone Case. Chair informed that committee that she received an email from Scott Nova, Worker Rights Consortium (WRC) with an update on the "positive resolution to PT Kizone Case." As of yesterday, Tuesday, April 23, 2013, Mr. Nova reported that an agreement was reached between Adidas and the union representing the PT Kizone workers.

Chair thanked the two graduating student representatives on the PCCSR, Kelsey Barringham and Nina Hunter, for all their hard work, commitment, and support of the committee. Ms. Barringham was not present. Chair extended her gratitude to Celia Guillard for great continued service.

The committee received four resumes for their review. Chair Hertel asked for vote to nominate two new students to the committee. A motion was made by Tim Tolokan and second by Gina DeVivo Brassaw for the appointment of Jeremy Jelliffe. A second motion was made by Waldo Klein and seconded by Tim Tolokan to appoint Robert Anderson. The recommendations will be forward to President Herbst for her consideration. The two candidates not selected (Jack Zachary and Samuel Hollister) will be invited to volunteer with outreach activities to be organized by the PCCSR for Fall 2013 (see below).

Committee members discussed the need for a public procedure for announcing future vacancies of student representatives on the committee and corresponding nominations. A motion was made by Waldo Klein and seconded by Gina DeVivo Brassaw. Chair Hertel will coordinate this with Pres. Herbst's office and present a plan to the committee.

Members inquired about having another forum in the fall 2013. A motion was made by Susan Randolph and second by Waldo Klein.

The committee members were very impressed with the back ground and commitment of Mr. Zachary, and Mr. Hollister and asked for a motion to invite them to volunteer at the fall 2013 Forum. A motion was made by Waldo Klein and seconded by John Sears.

Chair appointment Gina DeVivo Brassaw, Celia Guillard, Susan Randolph, and John Sears to coordinate the Fall Form. An invitation will be sent to Samuel Hollister and Jack Zachary to serve as volunteer for a Fall 2013 event on "CSR at UConn" to be hosted by the committee.

Leslie Langworthy then briefed the committee on ongoing developments related to the UConn Vendor Code of Conduct, including two active communications received by the department regarding vendors. This indicates that the university community and public are aware of the new code as well as procedures for reporting compliance issues.

Bill Simpson gave an update on Alta Gracia and related CSR purchasing by UConn Co-Op. The Co-Op has done business with Alta Gracia since the company's launch in 2010 and over the past two years, Alta Gracia's product style and quality have improved. The company is among a select group of licensees to have access to new UConn marks and logos and will be able to begin producing new products using those marks as of July 1, 2013. Simpson reported that although Scott Nova (WRC) has announced the launch of a new Designated Suppliers Program (DSP) there is not traction on this program yet within college bookstore circles; nor, Kyle Muncy noted, is there in licensing circles. The committee will continue to monitor developments on the DSP and will evaluate next steps once there is more information available.

Chair Hertel asked for approval of the minutes. A motion was made by Bill Simpson to approve the February 27, 2013 minutes. The motion was seconded by Tim Tolokan and approved.

Chair reminded members that there was no meeting on March 27, 2013, and therefore, we do not have minutes to approve for March.

The next meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, May 15, 2013, at 3:00 p.m. in Gentry Building, Room 246.

Chairwoman Hertel concluded the meeting at 4:06 p.m.

Rev 5/1/13